the Minister of Lands and Mines, the Minister of Agriculture, the Minister of Health and Social Services, the Minister of Labour, the Minister of Education and of Federal and Municipal Relations, the Minister of Industry and Reconstruction and a Minister without portfolio who is the Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission.

15.—Lieutenant-Governors of New Brunswick, 1867-1948, Legislatures and Premiers, 1931-48, and Present Ministry as at June 30, 1948

Note.—See headnote to Table 13, p. 104.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle Col. F. P. Harding. L. A. Wilmot. Samuel Leonard Tilley. E. Barron Chandler. Robert Duncan Wilmot. Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley. John Boyd. John A. Fraser. A. R. McClelan.	Oct. 18, 1867 July 14, 1868 Nov. 5, 1873 July 16, 1878 Feb. 11, 1880 Oct. 31, 1885 Sept. 21, 1893 Dec. 20, 1893	JABEZ B. SNOWBALL. L. J. TWEEDIE. JOSIAH WOOD. G. W. GANONG. WILLIAM PUGSLEY. WILLIAM F. TODD. Major-Gen. HUGH H. McLEAN. Col. MURRAY MACLAREN. W. G. CLARK. DAVID LAURENCE MACLAREN.	Nov. 6, 1917 Feb. 24, 1923 Dec. 11, 1928 Feb. 5, 1935 Mar. 5, 1940

Legislatures, 1934-481

Date of	Legislature	Number of	Date of	Date of
Election		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 19, 1930 June 27, 1935 Nov. 20, 1939 Aug. 28, 1944	10th General Assembly 11th General Assembly 12th General Assembly 13th General Assembly	4 5	Feb. 12, 1931	Oct. 26, 1939 July 10, 1944

¹The Ministries from 1934-48 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in June 1, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. L. P. D. Tilley; 20th Ministry, sworn in July 16, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. A. A. Dysart; 21st Ministry, sworn in Mar. 13, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. J. B. McNair.

Twenty-First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 28, 1948: 47 Liberals and 5 Progressive Conservatives.)

Note.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of Appointment
Premier and Attorney General Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and President of Executive Council Minister of Public Works Minister of Lands and Mines Minister of Agriculture Minister of Health and Social Services Minister of Labour Minister of Education and of Federal and Municipal Relations Minister of Industry and Reconstruction Minister without portfolio	Hon. J. J. HAYES DOONE Hon. W. S. ANDERSON Hon. RICHARD J. GILL Hon. A. C. TAYLOR Hon. F. A. McGrand, M.D. Hon. Samuel E. Mooers Hon. C. H. Blakney Hon. J. A. Doucet	Mar. 13, 1940 Jan. 10, 1940 July 16, 1938 May 16, 1946 July 16, 1935 Sept. 27, 1944 Sept. 27, 1944 Jan. 10, 1940 Sept. 27, 1944 Mar. 13, 1940